Check out our limited edition pressings & signed vinyl!

Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions (Ltd. Edition LP)

Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions (Ltd. Edition LP)

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.


"Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions" is being offered on double 180g limited edition GOLD vinyl.

Mention the name Robert Earl Keen, and several descriptive terms spring to mind – Texas singer-songwriter, career artist, brilliant storyteller, sardonic humorist, poet of the strange and familiar. And now with the release of his latest album, Happy Prisoner, there is what may seem a surprising addition to that list – bluegrass singer.

“I've had a lifelong love of bluegrass,” says Keen. “I've always had an affinity for music that I felt like you'd listen to in your living room. Music that felt real. My mom liked the old hillbilly music, and as a kid, I used to fall asleep listening to an 8-track tape of Jimmie Rodgers' greatest hits. When I was in 9th grade, one of my first dates was taking a girl to a bluegrass festival. That sounds crazy for someone in Texas. But I was fascinated with that music, even though it wasn't part of the gulf coast at all. When I started playing, my first guitar hero was Norman Blake. In college, I had a bluegrass band called the Front Porch Boys, went to fiddle contests, learned a jillion fiddle and old-timey songs. My whole education in music started with bluegrass.

“And that's partly where the album title comes from,” he continues. “I've been listening to it forever, I love it, and so I feel like I'm something of a happy prisoner of bluegrass."


Track List:

Side A:

1. Hot Corn, Cold Corn

2. 52 Vincent Black Lightning

3. Footprints in the Snow

4. 99 Years For One Dark Day (feat. Peter Rowan)

5. East Virginia Blues


Side B:

1.. Poor Ellen Smith

2. Long Black Veil

3. This World Is Not My Home

4. T For Texas (feat. Lyle Lovett)


Side C:

1. Peter Rowan Intro

2. Walls Of Time

3. White Dove

4. Old Home Place

5. Twisted Laurel

6. Wayfaring Stranger (feat. Natalie Maines)


Happy Prisoner on vinyl includes 5 extra songs not available on the CD!

Side D:

1.  Little Log Cabin Home On The Hill

2.  Dark As A Dungeon

3.  I'm Troubled, I'm Troubled

4.  14 Carat Mind

5.  Steam Powered Aeroplane